What are the islands of the eastern Caribbean called?

Home › Uncategorized › What are the islands of the eastern Caribbean called?
What are the islands of the eastern Caribbean called?

What are the islands of the eastern Caribbean called?

The Eastern Caribbean stretches in an arc south from Puerto Rico to Grenada and includes the main islands of Barbados, Antigua and St. Lucia, while the sister islands are further south and closest to the South American coast (only a few miles from Venezuela). of Trinidad and Tobago and the Dutch islands of Aruba.

What three islands are in the eastern Caribbean?

The Leeward Islands are the northern islands of the Lesser Antilles in the eastern Caribbean… The Leeward Islands.

What is the name of the group of islands in the Caribbean?

By looking at a map of the Caribbean, we can easily see why the Caribbean islands can be divided into three groups: the Bahamas, the Greater Antilles and the Lesser Antilles.

What kind of islands are there in the Caribbean Sea?

The Lesser Antilles Most of the islands in this group form an arc-shaped archipelago that separates the Caribbean Sea from the Atlantic Ocean. Some of the islands in this group, such as Aruba, Trinidad and Tobago and the Netherlands Antilles, are close to the coast of South America.

Who are the people of the Eastern Caribbean Islands?

The eastern Caribbean islands were dominated by two main cultural groups of the period of European contact: the Arawaks and the Kalinago, or Caribs. Individual villages of other distinct cultural groups were also present on the more southern, larger islands. In particular, the large island of Trinidad was shared by both Kalinago and Arawak groups.

What are the Lesser Antilles in the Caribbean?

The Lesser Antilles: Windward Islands The southeastern islands of the Caribbean, over which the northeast trade wind, or northeast, blows, are known as the Windward Islands. These islands include Dominica, Martinique, St. Lucia, St. Vincent, the Grenadines and Grenada.

Where is Jamaica in the Caribbean Group?

Jamaica, also part of the Greater Antilles archipelago, lies south of Cuba. It is slightly smaller than Connecticut. The landscape is mostly mountainous with narrow plains along the coast.

Randomly suggested related videos:

Thanks Dollar Shave club for sponsoring this video! Get your $5 starter set here: http://www.dollarshaveclub.com/GeographyNowCheck out http://www.GeographyN…

No Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *