What is the minimum and maximum age of jurisdiction for juvenile courts in the state of Georgia?
"'Child' means any person who is: (A) under 18 years of age; (B) under 17 years of age when alleged to have committed a criminal act; (C) Between 18 and 21 years of age and receiving extended youth care from DFCS; (D) Under the age of 21 years who committed a criminal offense before reaching the …
Can a 10-year-old go to juvie?
Ten (10) is the minimum age for secure detention of a juvenile unless it is a capital offense. Must be at least thirteen (13) years old to be declared a JSO. Age 18 triggers adult jurisdiction.
Can an 11-year-old go to juvie?
Children as young as 12 and as old as 18 are typically brought before juvenile courts, but increasingly prosecutors are trying children in this age group as adults for very serious crimes. There is no minimum age to be sent to juvenile court if you are charged with a crime.
When will juveniles in Georgia be charged as adults?
However, as we have illustrated, not all juvenile criminal cases remain in juvenile court. In the State of Georgia, the supreme court has exclusive original jurisdiction over the trial of any child between the ages of 13 and 17 who is alleged to have committed one of the following offenses (OCGA §15-11-560):
When must a child be sent to youth hall?
In my opinion, both the chronological and psychological age should be taken into account in order to send a child to youth hall. Sometimes a child may mature at an earlier age and sometimes later. A person becomes an adult at the age of 18 and before that he is a minor or youth. The decision of the court may be taken as final in such matters.
How old do you have to be to go to juvenile court?
The Youth Act does not envisage a minimum age for crime. Ten (10) is the minimum age for secure detention of a juvenile unless it is a capital offense. Must be at least thirteen (13) years old to be declared a JSO. Age 18 triggers adult jurisdiction.
How old do you have to be to be a criminal in Georgia?
However, OCGA §16-3-1 states that the minimum age for criminal prosecution is 13 because a child under 13 cannot form the requisite criminal intent to commit a criminal act. Georgia's juvenile laws vary widely from other criminal laws, and it is important to understand them.